Things we saw on the reef. It is all Greek to me 6. Zante 2015.

Thornback Ray

Continuing with my photos from my recent trip to Zante Greece, and the last post showing what we saw in the sea, here is what we saw once we discover the reef on the tip of Kalamaki Beach. Below I think is a Peacock Wrasse.

Peacock Wrasse

Here is a Goby and his friend. You can see these back home rock pooling at Pobbles Bay, Gower.

Goby

Another Peacock Wrasse. These fish would literally be all Greek to me, but again I am using Rob Jones’ “Mediterranean Species for Divers, Fisherman & Snorkelers”. That is not a typo it does say fisherman not fishermen, lost in translation I think.

Peacock Wrasse Zante

I think this tranquil Wrasse didn’t know what to make of me.

DimExcuses Snorkel

Or Sharon for that matter.

Sharon

Next we spotted these two. A striped Grund on the left and possibly a Brown Wrasse on the right.

Fish Zante

Here they are from another angle.

Striped Grund

Joined by another Striped Grund.

Zante Fish

Can you spot the Striped Sea Bream in this one. Quite good at camouflage this species.

Under the Sea, Zante

Here is a better look at them.

Striped Sea Bream

There was no shortage of these or the various Wrasses.

Sea Bream

This reef was plentiful with small fish.

More Sea Bream

Another Peacock Wrasse (Thalassoma Pavo according to Rob’s guide).

Peacock Wrasse

I think this plain little chap is a Common Sea Bream (Pagrus Pagrus).

Fish

But where there is small fish the bigger fish can’t be far behind. Which is wear I made this most significant spot of the trip, a Thornback Ray.

Thornback Ray Zante

I saw him, he saw me…but wasn’t sure if I saw him so tried to blend into the seaweed.

Thornback ray hiding in seaweed

He was very wary of me, and me wary of him as he was a ray, but he didn’t seem aggressive and we parted company friends after these photos.

DimExcuses Thornback Ray

Finally swimming back in from the reef you see some more small fish in the shallows sifting through the sand and gravel.  Generally brave little Striped Sea Bream that don’t seem wary of all the human swimmers at all.

Shallow Striped Sea Bream

So that is what we saw on the reef and with the help of this guide it is not all Greek to me for once. Which leaves just one set of photos from Zante to post, the speed boat trip, DimExcuses.

One thought on “Things we saw on the reef. It is all Greek to me 6. Zante 2015.

  1. Pingback: The Keri Caves by Speed Boat. It is all Greek to me 7. Zante 2015. | DimExcuses

Leave a Reply

