Dawn Rocks! Zante, 2015. It is all Greek to me 1.

Zante Dawn

So there I was, deep in the Mediterranean enjoying the morning sunrise and examining the geology. The #Mentro21 project to surf 21 times this year was going so well a month ago, and then I developed a large abscess under my arm (go to @DimExcuses twitter for the gory detail). A trip to A&E and some emergency surgery under a general aesthetic, I was left with a big hole under my arm that would need weeks of healing, and definitely no surfing (DimSurfing).

Sunrise Zante

So it was rather lucky that we were set for two weeks R&R in Zante, Greece, for our friends Nic and Mark to renew their wedding vows.

Empty Zante Beach

Sun, sand and cocktails by the pool was just what the doctor ordered.

Zante Landing

We stayed in Kalamaki, right by Zakynthos airport, where the planes land close over the beach. Really close over the beach.

Fly Zante

I could watch the in flight movie as this one passed.

Beach Plane

Sunrises and planes aside, the reason I was on the beach was because people had been telling me about a glass like rock formation in the bay. I was brought a piece back and identified it as Muscovite Mica. Mica is usually the little reflective bits that but the sparkle in Granite Worktops.

Muscovite Mica by the Sea

To see it in a large crystal outcrop would be quite interesting for a Geologist like me. Note the water bottle for scale, always a Geologist.

Muscovite Mica

There were some other striking rock formations…

Greek Rock Formation

…and also the shear awe that people can be so ignorant to the hazard of this potential rockfall. I saw some people lying under it for shade!

Potential Rockfall

The Zante coast is so very picturesque.

Pedalo Dawn

It really does have a bit of an edge on Wales in terms of sun and warm weather, and has a rather awesome sideline in turtle conservation.  They fence the nests off like this to protect the hatch-lings.

Turtle Nest

Great to see nature and tourism developing side by side, the tagline for these pedalos was ‘Rent a Pedalo, see a Turtle’.

Pedalo Dawn

A great morning and a good start to the holiday.  I have four more posts from Zante, and it is all Greek to me, DimExcuses.

5 thoughts on “Dawn Rocks! Zante, 2015. It is all Greek to me 1.

  1. Pingback: Jump in the Pool! Zante 2015. It is all Greek to me 2. | DimExcuses

  2. Pingback: Banana Beach, Greece, DimExcuses Beach Guide. It is all Greek to me 3. Zante 2015. | DimExcuses

  3. Pingback: Pedalos and planes. It is all Greek to me 4. Zante 2015 | DimExcuses

  4. Pingback: Things we saw on the reef. It is all Greek to me 6. Zante 2015. | DimExcuses

  5. Pingback: The Keri Caves by Speed Boat. It is all Greek to me 7. Zante 2015. | DimExcuses

Leave a Reply

