Dub be good to me. Volksfest Wales, Carmarthen August 2013.

The start of August saw me attending my second Volkfest, which was also being held for a second year in Carmarthenshire Show Ground.  The weekend camping was a bargain £25 with full show entry.  I arrived Friday night under a cloudy Carmarthen sky but the rain held off long enough for everyone to get their pitches set up.

Carmarthen clouds

When the rain did turn up in the evening, we were all safe and dry watching the bands under the cover of the large events shed.  This was massive and everyone fitted into it no problem.  I made myself at home along with my bulldog buddy Winnie.

DSCN2064

Winnie and I settled back to watch the bands and enjoy our evening, before calling it a night and getting some shut eye ready to be up and at it for the rest of the Volksfest Wales weekend.

DSCN2068

Winnie has been getting upto all sorts of adventures this Summer, and you can follow them at #AdventuresOfWinnie or on my Twitter feed @DimExcuses.  She was sporting her VW bandana especially for the weekend, and taking no nonsense.

DSCN2080

I can assure you now that rumours Winnie and I were at Volksfest Wales 2013 in this massive adventure bus are not true.  It must have been another South Wales celebrity, Dainton from Dirty Sanchez and Kill City Skateboards was spotted at the show but I can confirm this wasn’t his either.

DSCN2082

Next on the agenda Saturday afternoon was to catch with our favourite Carmarthen local band Idiot Box, who played a set out of the hanger to the whole show ground which was now basking in the Welsh Summer Sun.

DSCN2088

As the Sun continued Saturday, so did the fun.  We were in the same field as Rothfink Industries.  They are a crazy VW apparel company with a cruising retro style.

DSCN2099

I can’t even explain the next picture?  Maybe you can get some answers at their website www.rothfink.com.

DSCN2098

As the sunny Saturday at Volksfest Wales moved into the evening we were back at the main stage for more bands and a couple of pints.  After a great night we woke up Sunday to the Welsh weather, but by then nothing could ruin a great VW weekend.

DSCN2121

I will definitely be back next year and DimExcuses so should you.

Leave a Reply

